Electronic Resources (by subject)

CAB Abstracts covers the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment.

For access contact DARD or CAFRE libraries

Emerald Library An electronic Management Research Library Database. Subjects include marketing, food and nutrition, human resources, operations and production. Full text only for journals to which Library has subscription.

Available through CAFRE Libraries

Science Direct is a database of 2,500 journal titles, many of them full-text. It covers a wide range of science subjects and even includes some “In press” or pre-publication journal articles.

Available to ALL NICS staff[Helpsheet]

Food & Drink (Technical Indexes) Full text coverage of all relevant UK primary and secondary legislation, and documents from bodies such as FAO.

Available through CAFRE Libraries

FoodLineWeb A resource covering the international food and drinks industry. Databases include:

Available through CAFRE Libraries

Mintel Market Reports Food and Drink Series & Irish Series. Mintel reports analyse market sizes and trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits, as well as assessing the future of the market.

DARD staff only

Proquest Applied Science & Technology Plus Full text coverage from leading scientific journals. Coverage is from 1994.

(DARD - Loughry: Access to all DARD staff and Loughry students via password and IP address)

Academic Search Premier (via EBSCO) This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences - IBSS (via EBSCO) The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), produced by the London School of Economics and Political Science, includes over 2.5 million references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. IBSS focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines - anthropology, economics, politics and sociology - but it also covers a range of interdisciplinary subjects. IBSS is especially strong on international material with over 50 per cent of journals published outside the US or UK. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. IBSS is updated weekly.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

GEM Used to find scientific, technical and medical information. Subject areas include: Aerospace, Building and Construction, Chemistry, Engineering, Environment, Food Science and Technology, Geology, Health and Safety, Medicine, Materials, Physics and Transportation. Most databases are bibliographic - providing detailed references to articles, conference papers, books and reports.

Available through DARD library

Business Source Premier (via EBSCO) Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Regional Business News (via EBSCO) This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Directory of Open Access Journals This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, and aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are 2588 journals in the directory.

Available to all NICS staff

EBSCO host Ebsco is a powerful online reference system available to all NICS staff. It offers a variety of full text databases from leading information providers. The information is easily shared among colleagues. Simply copy the link provided for any given article and pass it on to others that you feel would benefit from reading the same information, they can click on the link to receive immediate access to the article. The two main databases available are Academic Source Premier and Business Source Elite.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

JSTOR - Ireland Collection Access to a collection of Irish academic journal abstracts, with some free full-text.

Available to all NICS staff

Nexis UK Nexis UK is a research tool offering a wealth of news, company, market research and directory sources. It contains more than 32,000 sources with up to 30 years archive available.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Science Direct is a database of 2,500 journal titles, many of them full-text. It covers a wide range of science subjects and even includes some “In press” or pre-publication journal articles.

Available to ALL NICS staff[Helpsheet]

GreenFILE (via EBSCO) GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Science Direct is a database of 2,500 journal titles, many of them full-text. It covers a wide range of science subjects and even includes some “In press” or pre-publication journal articles.

Available to ALL NICS staff[Helpsheet]

Official Publications Online (OPO) TSO's Official Publications Online provides a simple way to stay up-to-date with the latest official publications.

Available to all NICS staff

Grant Tracker is the only website dedicated to helping the voluntary and community sector in Northern Ireland to fundraise. It provides information on all the funding sources available to voluntary and community organisations, a range of online tools for tracking down funding sources, guidance on how to fundraise, helps funders promote their news and funding criteria and assists funding specialists in advising others.

Available to all NICS staff via password. Please contact your departmental library

Science Direct is a database of 2,500 journal titles, many of them full-text. It covers a wide range of science subjects and even includes some “In press” or pre-publication journal articles.

Available to ALL NICS staff[Helpsheet]

Oxford English Dictionary Online   The OED online contains the complete text of the 20 volume print edition - but in a fast and easy to search format. The service is updated quarterly. Use your public library card number to access.

Available to all Libraries NI members

Bulletin of Northern Ireland Law Provides up-to-date information on legal developments and the Northern Ireland Legal Quarterly contains articles on legal issues.

Available through DSO Library

Legal Information Online Network (LION) Accessed through Knowledge Network with access to Context, Justis Statute Direct, Butterworths Education Direct, Lawtel UK,EU, & Current Awareness.

Available through DSO Library

Legal Island Employment Law An almost daily e-mail service. Subject areas covered include: Bullying at Work - Breach of Contract - Codes of Practice - Conferences and Seminars on Employment Law - Consultation Documents - Disciplinary Proceedings - Drafting Contracts of Employment - Draft Legislation - Discrimination and Equality Measures - EU Directives - Harassment - Maternity and Parental Rights - New Case Law - Part-Time Workers Rights - Recruitment and Selection Procedures - Statutory Instruments and Rules - Terms of Employment - Unfair Dismissal, Wages - Whistleblowing at Work - Working Time.

Available through DSO Library

Legislation.gov.uk The official revised edition of the primary legislation of the United Kingdom made available online.

Available to all NICS staff

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts - LISTA (via EBSCO) Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

CIPD Case Studies Offers 98 comprehensive case studies and tutor guidance and support as a unique way of encouraging students to learn vital business skills. The cases are relevant for use as a part of the CIPD PDS and Certificate Programmes and on both undergraduate and post graduate HRM and business degree programmes.

Available to all CAFRE colleges via password

Infotrac Onefile Journals & Newspapers Access to journals and newspapers from a variety of mainstream and specialised sources.

Available through CAFRE Libraries

Nexis UK Nexis UK is a research tool offering a wealth of news, company, market research and directory sources. It contains more than 32,000 sources with up to 30 years archive available.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Official Publications Online (OPO) TSO's Official Publications Online provides a simple way to stay up-to-date with the latest official publications.

Available to all NICS staff

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) The OED online contains the complete text of the 20 volume print edition - but in a fast and easy to search format. The service is updated quarterly. Use your public library card number to access.

Available to all Libraries NI members

Teacher Reference Center (via EBSCO) Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Science Direct is a database of 2,500 journal titles, many of them full-text. It covers a wide range of science subjects and even includes some “In press” or pre-publication journal articles.

Available to ALL NICS staff[Helpsheet]

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences - IBSS (via EBSCO) The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), produced by the London School of Economics and Political Science, includes over 2.5 million references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. IBSS focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines - anthropology, economics, politics and sociology - but it also covers a range of interdisciplinary subjects. IBSS is especially strong on international material with over 50 per cent of journals published outside the US or UK. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. IBSS is updated weekly.

Available to all NICS staff [Helpsheet]

Online Research Bank Consists of two searchable databases containing bibliographies and summaries of social research relating to NI – Social Policy Database & Children’s Research Database.

Access available to DHSSPS Library staff via password

Science Direct is a database of 2,500 journal titles, many of them full-text. It covers a wide range of science subjects and even includes some “In press” or pre-publication journal articles.

Available to ALL NICS staff[Helpsheet]

Social Policy and Practice Bibliographic database with abstracts containing materials from 1890 to date, with the majority of references from 1980s onwards. It covers subjects like public and social policy, public health, social care, community development, mental and community health, homelessness, housing, crime, law and order, families, children and older people. There are currently over 200,000 records, with most content being UK based.

Access available to DHSSPS Library staff via password

Social Welfare research portal The portal includes a high quality collection of free full text research and evaluation reports, Parliamentary papers, consultations and policy proposals available for immediate download. Also included are the details of books, journal articles, theses and other resources which are included in the British Library's collections, but only available to those staff with a departmental library.

Access to free service only.

Northern Ireland Neighbourhood Information Service (NINIS) NINIS provides free access to statistical and locational information relating to small areas across Northern Ireland. Information is available across a range of themes including Population, Social and Welfare, Agriculture, Education and Crime.

Available to all NICS staff

ANTEnet The Web version of Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (ANTE), the international abstracting and indexing tool for research in technology .It provides abstracts from over 350 UK and US research and trade journals plus selected newspapers and weekly magazines, with over 275,000 records dating back to 1981.

Access available to all Loughry via password